autumn 2022 - SANACC

Go to content

autumn 2022

Loch Internationals

Autumn International
Llyn Tawsfynydd, Wales
29th September 2022

Scotland Team sponsored by
7plus7 Construction
Lake of Menteith
Fishers,  Angus Angling, Seaguar
Advance Construction, Howdens Joinery, Jewsons, St Andrews Timber & Building Supplies,
Magnet Trade, McKenzie Skip Hire, Rydens, Stevenswood Trade Centre.

Autumn International
Llyn Trawsfynydd, Wales - 29th September 2022

The 2022 Autumn International was hosted by Wales at Llyn Trawsfynydd and the venue has been improved over the last few years by the Prysor Angling Association.  The facilities, the boats and the quality of the fishing were all excellent.

During the practice days several areas were identified as holding fish and on match day it was apparent that most of the boats were intent on heading towards the same area.  Llyn Trawsfynydd was a successful venue for the Scottish team in the previous visit in 2010 when the result was very close.  This year Scotland ran out convincing winners with their 112 fish being 20 more than second placed Wales who had 92.  England were a further 15 behind with 77 fish and Ireland were fourth with 74.  

The match was fished on a catch and release basis with points being awarded for each fish caught.
Scottish Captain Brian Mackenzie receiving the winners trophy from IFFA President Stan McKeon
Autumn Intenational - Llyn Trawsfynydd
29th September 2022
112 fish
6764 pts
2ndWales92 fish5601 pts
3rdEngland77 fish4652 pts
4thIreland74 fish4534 pts
Top individual rod and winner of the Brown Bowl and the Phoenix Silver Salver was Scotland's Ronnie Gilbert who had 16 fish for a total of 961 points.  

Top rod for Wales, and second overall, was their captain Jason Heath who had 14 fish for 859 points.  Terry Phillips was the top rod for England with 13 fish for 784 points and he was third overall.  Top for Ireland and fourth overall was Stephen Browne with 10 fish and 626 points.

Scotland had five rods in the top 11 and these five earned a place in the 2023 teams.  Mark Stephen had 10 fish for 612 points and 6th overall.  Derek Marklow who also had 10 fish was 7th overall with 610 points.  Allan McLachlan also had 10 fish and his 595 points put him 9th.  In 11th spot was Derek Hesset with 9 fish and 548 points.

Ronnie Gilbert receiving the Brown Bowl from IFFA Prsident Stan McKeon
Mark Stephen
Derek Marklow
Allan McLachlan
Derek Hessett
Team Scotland Gold Medal Winners Autumn International 2022
From Left: Stan McKeon (IFFA President), Derek Hessett, Gil Farid, Sean McCaffrey,  Greig Davie,  Ben Robertson,  David Wales,  Allan McLachlan,  Derek Pozzi,  Ronnie Gilbert,  Michael Low,  Brian Mckenzie (Captain),  Peter Auchterlonie,  Mark Stephen,  Jock Kettles (Manager),  Derek Marklow,  George Mackenzie (International Secretary),  Ian Campbell (IFFA Secretary)
Scottish Team - Individual Places

1stRonnie GilbertMenteith Ospreys16634.3961
6thMark StephenNeilston FF10407.6612
7thDerek MarklowLoanhead & District AC10405.2610
9thAllan McLachlanCosta Ecosse10390.0595
11thDerek HessettGateside Flycasters9365.3548
15thPeter AuchterlonieMenteith Ospreys9354.2538
18thGreig DavieThalassa AC8324.7488
22ndDerek PozziThalassa AC7282.0426
23rdSean McCaffreyShetland AA7274.8418
24thBrian Mackenzie (cpt)Neilston FF6248.2371
28thBen RobertsonPhoenix FF6241.0364
31stMichael LowMenteith Ospreys6236.2358
42ndGil FaridCentral Belters FF4157.6239
44thDavid WalesSelect FF4156.0236


Brian Mackenzie (Captain)

Club:  Neilston FF
Previous Caps:  4

Peter Auchterlonie

Club:  Menteith Ospreys
Previous Caps:  15
Brown Bowl 1999 and 2013;   Silver Salver 1999, 2013 and 2014; Scottish National Champion 2010

Greig Davie

Club:  Thalassa AC
Previous Caps:  2

Gil Farid

Club:  Central Belters FF  

Ronnie Gilbert

Club:  Menteith Ospreys
Previous Caps:  10
Scottish National Champion 2008 and 2014

Derek Hessett

Club:  Gateside Flycasters
Previous Caps:  2
Silver Salver 2019

Michael Low

Club:  Menteith Ospreys
Previous Caps: 1

Derek Marklow

Club:  Loanhead & District AC
Previous Caps:  1

Sean McCaffrey

Club:  Shetland AA
Previous Caps:  2

Allan McLachlan

Club:  Costa Ecosse
Previous Caps:  1
Scottish National Champion 2019

Derek Pozzi

Club:  Thalassa AC
Previous Caps:  5
Scottish National Champion 2018

Ben Robertson

Club:  Phoenix FF
Previous Caps:  1

Mark Stephen

Club:  Stewarton AC
Previous Caps:  4

David Wales

Club:  Select FF

Previous Caps:  2

Manager - Jock Kettles

Club:  Change FF AC
Previous Caps:  16
Silver Salver 2004 and 2009

Back to content